NFB Animation on TCM – April 9th – Animation Scoop

NFB Animation on TCM – April 9th

SchoolWood is proud to announce that Ellen Besen and Aubry Mintz will be guest presenters of an evening of NFB Animation on TCM (Turner Classic Movie Channel) on April 9th at 8:00 PM EST (5pm Pacific). The program will survey the incredible body of work produced by the National Film Board of Canada in this medium from the early 1940’s to the end of the 1990’s.

Norman MacLaren, Caroline Leaf and Richard Condie are just a few of the animators who’s greatest works will screened. Over the course of the last year, Aubry and Ellen viewed and researched many titles from the NFB archives to create this 4 hour package which includes the work of more than 30 directors working in a variety of techniques. As part of the presentation, they will be discussing the films with TCM Host Ben Mankiewicz.

Please join them for this visual adventure of rarely seen favorites and hidden gems on Sunday, April 9 at 8 PM EST. Details can be found at the TCM website. The complete schedule is below:

8pm EST/5pm PST
Fine Feathers (1968)
What on Earth! (1966)
Mail Early (1941)
A Chairy Tale (1957)
Very Nice, Very Nice (1961)
Boogie-Doodle (1941)
Lines Vertical (1960)
Walking (1968)

9pm EST/6:00pm PST
Hot Stuff (1971)
Owl Who Married a Goose, The (1975)
The Street(1976)
An Old Box(1975)
The Family That Dwelt Apart (1973)
Monsieur Pointu (1975)
Mindscape (1976)

10:15pm EST/7:15pm PST
E (1981)
Every Child (1979)
Why Me (1978)
Zea (1981)
Log Driver’s Waltz (1979)
La Plage (1978)
The Big Snit (1985)
Sea Dream (1979)

11:30pm EST/8:30pm PST
Blackfly (1991)
Les Iris (1991)
Bob’s Birthday (1994)
When the Day Breaks (2000)
My Grandmother Ironed the King’s Shirts (1999)
The Cat Came Back (1988)

“In our research we found wonderful backstage stories for many of our films, more than could be covered in the interview sections of the evening itself,” said Aubry Mintz. “Viewers can take advantage of this additional material – production anecdotes, thoughts on content, notes on historical context – we will be posting some of our favorite bits over the next few weeks on our Facebook page.”

Jerry Beck

Jerry Beck

Writer, cartoon producer and author of more than 15 books on animation history. A former studio exec with Nickelodeon and Disney; currently on the faculty at both CalArts in Valencia and Woodbury University in Burbank.
Jerry Beck
Both comments and pings are currently closed.
  • It’s like Cartoon Network’s O’ Canada all over again. Neat..