Annie Award Nominations Announced – Animation Scoop

Annie Award Nominations Announced

The International Animated Film Society, ASIFA-Hollywood, announced nominations today for its 45th Annual Annie Awards recognizing the year’s best in the field of animation. For a complete list of nominations, please visit

This year’s Best Animated Feature nominations include: Captain Underpants (DreamWorks Animation), Cars 3 (Pixar Animation Studios), Coco (Pixar Animation Studios), Despicable Me 3 (Illumination) and The Boss Baby (DreamWorks Animation).

Best Animated Feature-Independent, spotlighting features with a much smaller distribution footprint than major studio releases, include: In This Corner of the World (Taro Maki, GENCO, Inc. and Masao Maruyama, Mappa Co., Ltd), Loving Vincent (BreakThru Films, Production Company Trademark Films, Co-Production Company), Napping Princess (Nippon TV), The Big Bad Fox & Other Tales (Folivari/Panique!/Studiocanal) and The Breadwinner (Cartoon Saloon/Aircraft Pictures/Melusine Productions).

The nominees include:

#3 Best Animated Special Production

Imaginary Friend Society “Feeling Sad”
Olaf’s Frozen Adventure
Walt Disney Animation Studios
Pig: The Dam Keeper Poems
Tonko House, Inc.
Revolting Rhymes
Magic Light Pictures
Tangled Before Ever After
Walt Disney Television Animation

#4 Best Animated Short Subject

Dear Basketball
Glen Keane Productions, Kobe Studios, Believe Entertainment Group
Hedgehog’s Home
National Film Board of Canada, Bonobostudio
Negative Space
IKKI Films / Manuel Cam Studio
Titmouse, Inc. // Adult Swim
Son of Jaguar
Google Spotlight Stories, Reel FX

#5 Best Animated Television/Broadcast Commercial

Biscotti. Una storia buona
Broad Reach Pictures/Chromosphere/Lyft
League of Legends ‘Legends Never Die’
Passion Animation Studios
Please the Cheese
Sainsbury’s ‘The Greatest Gift’
Passion Animation Studios

#6 Best Animated Television/Broadcast Production For Preschool Children

Mickey and the Roadster Racers
Episode: Goofy Gas!
Walt Disney Television Animation
Episode: Operation Deep Freeze
Vampire Squid Productions Limited, a Silvergate Media company, in association with Brown Bag Films
Peg + Cat, The Mariachi Problem
Episode: 220B, The Mariachi Problem
The Fred Rogers Company/ 100 Chickens Productions
The Stinky & Dirty Show
Episode: HaHaHigher / The Waiting Game
Amazon Studios
Through the Woods
Episode: A Snowy Morning
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, The Fred Rogers Company, PIP Animation Services

#7 Best Animated Television/Broadcast Production For Children

Buddy Thunderstruck

Episode: To Protect and Swerve / Robo Truck of the Future
Stoopid Buddy and American Greetings for Netflix

Lost in Oz
Episode: The Pearl of Pingaree
Amazon Studios

Niko and the Sword of Light
Episode: From the Cliffs of Catastrophe to the Pools of Destiny
Amazon Studios
Tangled: The Series
Episode: Queen for a Day
Walt Disney Television Animation

We Bare Bears
Episode: Panda’s Art
Cartoon Network Animation Studios

#8 Best General Audience Animated Television/Broadcast Production

Big Mouth
Episode: Am I Gay?

BoJack Horseman
Episode: Stupid Piece of Sh*t
Tornante Productions, LLC for Netflix

Rick and Morty
Episode: 303 – “Pickle Rick”
Williams Street Productions

Robot Chicken
Episode: Freshly Baked: The Robot Chicken Santa Claus Pot Cookie Freakout Special: Special Edition,
Stoopid Buddy Stoodios

Samurai Jack
Episode: XCIII
Adult Swim

#9 Best Student Film
Devon Manney
Junyi Xiao
Good Night, Everybuds!
Director: Benedikt Hummel, Sound Design & Mix: Lena Beck, Music: Andreas Pfeiffer, Producer: Stefan Michel
Once a hero
Xia Li
Poles Apart
Director: Paloma Baeza, Producer: Ser En Low, All Student Crew

For a complete list of the Outstanding Individual Achievements, please visit

The winners will be announced at a black tie ceremony on Saturday, February 3rd, 2018 at UCLA’s Royce Hall. A pre-reception and press line begins at 5:00 pm with the awards ceremony following at 7:00 pm. A post-show celebration immediately follows the ceremony. All events will be held at Royce Hall.

Juried Awards will also be presented honoring career achievement and exceptional contributions to animation. Three Winsor McCay recipients have been selected by the ASIFA-Hollywood Board of Directors – British character animator, James Baxter; SpongeBob SquarePants creator, Stephen Hillenburg; and the Canadian animation duo, Wendy Tilby & Amanda Forbis, for their career contributions to the art of animation; The Ub Iwerks Award will be presented to TVPaint for its versatile software for 2D animation; Cuphead, the 1930s inspired wonder-game from StudioMDHR will receive this year’s Special Achievement Award; and the June Foray Award will be presented to animation historian Didier Ghez for his significant and benevolent or charitable impact on the art and industry of animation. The Certificate of Merit award will be presented to David Nimitz, devoted friend and caretaker of veteran voice actress and ASIFA-Hollywood & Annie Award pioneer, June Foray, who passed away in July at the age of 99.

ASIFA-Hollywood is the world’s first and foremost professional organization dedicated to promoting the Art of Animation and celebrating the people who create it. Today, ASIFA-Hollywood, the largest chapter of the international organization ASIFA, supports a range of animation activities and preservation efforts through its membership. Current initiatives include the Animation Archive, Animation Aid Foundation, animated film preservation, special events, classes and screenings.

Created in 1972 by veteran voice talent June Foray, the Annie Awards™ have grown in scope and stature for the past four decades. For tickets, please visit For all other information regarding the Annie Awards, please visit

Jerry Beck

Jerry Beck

Writer, cartoon producer and author of more than 15 books on animation history. A former studio exec with Nickelodeon and Disney; currently on the faculty at both CalArts in Valencia and Woodbury University in Burbank.
Jerry Beck
You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.