Ron Clements & John Musker To Receive Art Directors Award For Championing The Art Of Animation – Animation Scoop

Ron Clements & John Musker To Receive Art Directors Award For Championing The Art Of Animation

Ron Clements and John Musker, Oscar-nominated Walt Disney Animation Studios filmmaking partners behind such animated features as Moana and The Princess and the Frog, will receive the William Cameron Menzies Award from the Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE Local 800) at the 22nd Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards on Jan. 27th at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland. The award recognizes their innovative artistic work on numerous legendary Disney animated features. Today’s announcement was made by ADG Council Chair Marcia Hinds ADG and Awards Producers Thomas Walsh ADG and Thomas Wilkins ADG.

The ADG’s spotlight of the duo’s animation achievements is particularly significant this year. The guild will debut its new award category Excellence in Production Design for an Animated Feature Film in recognition of the growing importance of animated features.

(L-R) Director John Musker and Director Ron Musker. Photo By: Araya Diaz. ©2013 Disney. All Rights Reserved.

“Both Clements’ and Musker’s love of animation have brought us legendary worlds of imagination,” said ADG President Nelson Coates. “The ADG is thrilled to honor their efforts, talents and achievements as they continue to blaze creative trails in animation and to be leaders in Disney’s artistic evolution over the decades. They are masters of their craft and part of the technical innovations in the art form itself.”

Clements and Musker have worked together as directors on a number of Walt Disney Animation Studios features and were nominated for two Academy Awards for the Best Animated Feature Film of the Year for Moana (2017) and The Princess and the Frog (2010). They have received numerous awards and nominations from other organizations for these and their additional celebrated classics including Aladdin (1992), The Little Mermaid (1989), Hercules (1997), the Oscar®-nominated Treasure Planet (2002) and The Great Mouse Detective (1986). Both men began their Disney careers in the 1970’s as assistant animators on featurettes – Clements with Winnie the Pooh and Tigger Too (1974) and Musker with The Small One (1978).

As previously announced, Kathleen Kennedy, the Oscar-nominated producer and President of Lucasfilm, will be honored with the 2018 “Cinematic Imagery Award.” Matthew Loeb, IATSE International President, will be presented with the ADG Leadership Award. Sir Ken Adam, the Oscar-winning Production Designer behind the James Bond franchise, and Tyrus Wong, award-winning Illustrator of Bambi fame, will be inducted into ADG’s Hall of Fame. Lifetime Achievement Awards will also be presented to Production Designer Norm Newberry, Scenic Artist John Moffitt, Set Designer James J. Murakami and Senior Illustrator Martin Kline.

Jerry Beck

Jerry Beck

Writer, cartoon producer and author of more than 15 books on animation history. A former studio exec with Nickelodeon and Disney; currently on the faculty at both CalArts in Valencia and Woodbury University in Burbank.
Jerry Beck
You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.
  • Sean Ramsdell

    How far they’ll go